Stanbic Uganda Cup: Battle For Final Starts At Mengo

By Dennis Ssembatya L. Jr

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (Fufa’s) referees’ arm has handed (Dr) Ali Sabilla, the mandate to officiate the Stanbic Uganda Cup final tie, pitting Proline FC and Bright Stars.

Sabilla, will have Mark Sonko and Issa Masembe assisting him, when the 2018/19 Big League title winners- Proline face StarTimes Uganda Premier mediocre side – Bright Stars battle for the country’s second prestigious title at the Masaka recreation grounds on Saturday.

William Oloya will be the standby official as Amin Bbosa plays the role of referee assessor.

The journey to Saturday’s final battle, starts this Wednesday, with expected verbal utterances from the technical teams of both clubs, when coaches – Shafiq Bisaso and Fred Kajoba come face to face during a Fufa organised pre-match press conference at Mengo.

It is the first time that both Proline and Bright Stars have reached the final of this competition, where the Lugogo side eliminated fellow Big League side Kyetume FC 4-3 on post match penalties, following a 3-3 aggregate after the return leg fixture. Bright Stars on their side brushed off Express FC 3-2 on penalties at the Mutesa II Stadium – Wankulukuku, after a 2- 2 aggregate in the final meeting of the semi-final encounter.

This edition’s competition has seen an increment in prize money for the participating teams as well as exciting rewards for the fans, courtesy of sponsors – Stanbic.

Fufa Supremo – Moses Magogo (2nd R) is joined by Stanbic’s Sonia Karamagi (2nd L), as well as Aisha Nalule, and Rogiers Byamukama in unveiling the 2019 silverware. It’s not only the trophy at stake as the battle for the Uganda Cup honours go to Masaka at the weekend.

The winning team in Saturday’s final will smile away with ugx40m, as the losing finalists take ugx20m, less. All semi-finalists are assured of ugx10m, each, while quarter-finalists ugx5m to pocket as each of the qualifies for the round of 16 grab a ugx2.5m pay-cheque.

This annual competition is open for non league teams, as well as registered clubs playing in all the five football divisions of Fufa.
The competition was first staged in 1971, as a replacement of the Kabaka’s Cup (not the current Buganda version), which had been inaugurated in 1925 and later renamed Luwangula Cup. Between 1992 and 2010 the Uganda Cup was known as the Kakungulu Cup in honour of a former Uganda’s FA vice president, prince Badru Kakungulu.

1971 Coffee SC                       2-1 Army

1972-1975                               competition suspended ‘due to rough-play’

1976 Gangama United          0-0 Coffee SC   (4-2 pen)    

1977 Simba                              w/o Nytil FC

1978 Nsambya                        1-0 UCB

1979 KCC                                  w/o UCB

1980 KCC                                  2-0 Maroons

1981 Coffee SC                       1-1 UCB          (5-4 pen)

1982 KCC                                 Nile                  (Nile walked off in 75′ at 1-0; KCC winners)

1983 SC Villa                            1-0 KCC

1984 KCC                                  3-2 Coffee SC     

1985 Express                           3-1 KCC

1986 SC Villa                            2-0 Tobacco

1987 KCC                                  1-0 SC Villa

1988 SC Villa                            3-1 Express

1989 SC Villa                            4-2 Express

1990 KCC                                  3-0 SC Villa     (The first game to officially attract Military police/teargas in stadia)

1991 Express                           4-1 Nile

Kakungulu Cup

1992 Express                           1-0 Nile

1993 KCC                                  2-1 Dairy Heroes

1994 Express                           0-0 KCC            (4-3 pen)

1995 Express                           2-0 Posta          (aet)

1996 UEB                                  1-0 Nile

1997 Express                           4-1 UEB

1998 Villa                                2-0 Simba

1999 Dairy Heroes                0-0 Lyantonde FC   (3-0 pen)

2000 Villa                                1-0 Military Police

2001 Express                          3-1 Villa

2002 Villa                                2-1 Express

2003 Express                          3-1 Police

2004 KCC                                 1-1 Express        (aet, 3-2 pen)

2005 URA                                2-1 KCC

2006 Express                          2-0 Maji

2007 Express                          0-0 KCC            (aet, 4-2 pen)

2008 Victors                           1-0 Kinyara

2009 Villa                                2-1 URA

2010 Victors                           1-1 Simba          (aet, 5-4 pen)

Uganda Cup

2011 Simba                            2-1 URA

2012 URA                                1-0 Bunamwaya

2013 SCVU                             1-1 Vipers         (aet, 5-3 pen)

2014 URA                                2-2 KCCA         (aet, 4-2 pen)

2015 Villa                                3-0 KCCA (Replayed Namboole after Referee Robert Donney had dominated the abandoned final)

2016 Vipers                            3-1 Ondurapaka

2017 KCCA                             2-0 Paidha Black Angels

2018 KCCA                             1-0 Vipers 

2019 Proline v Bright Stars      ???   

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *